Chakra Vinyasa

Chakra Psychology Summary

The chakras are the seven main energy centers in the body where we receive, absorb and distribute life energies. They are located along the spine, starting at the base and running upwards to the crown of the head. The chakras are described as “Whirling Wheels of light” and each chakra radiates a specific color and energy. Each chakra relates to specific spiritual, emotional, psychological and physical issues.

The chakras can become blocked through external situations and internal habits such as long-held tension in the body or staying stuck in our thoughts about things past or constant worry about the future. As a result a chakra can become either deficient or excessive. Therefore this chakra is imbalanced. Balancing these energy centers leads to our well-being. Practicing asana, pranayama, and affirmations that correspond to each chakra can release stuck energy and clear the path to more joyful living. Therefore the chakra system provides a foundation for fine-tuning our yoga to suit our personality & promote happiness.


Muladhara Root

Identity Physical
Affirmation I am here
Intention Manifestation
Key Emotion Fear
Self Work Self-Preservation
Mantra May I be able to nourish & nurture myself, May I be grounded, May I be stable.


Svadhistana Sacral

Identity Emotional
Affirmation I am me
Intention Individuation
Key Emotion Isolation
Self Work Self-Gratification
Mantra May I be at home and at ease in my body, May I find balance in my relationships between myself and others.


Manipura Solar Plexus/Navel

Identity Ego
Affirmation I am free
Intention Emancipation
Key Emotion Shame / Low Self-Worth
Self Work Self-Definition
Mantra May I be true to myself, May I express who I am without fear, May I be able to honor myself.


Anahata Heart

Identity Social
Affirmation I am love
Intention Adoration
Key Emotion Hopelessness
Self Work Self-Love
Mantra May I be at home in my heart, May I be free to feel my true feelings, desires, passions.


Vishuddha Throat

Identity Creative
Affirmation I am truth
Intention Communication
Key Emotion Negative Speech
Self Work Self-Expression
Mantra May I be able to express my feelings with ease and be balanced between heart and mind.


Ajna Brow

Identity Archetypal
Affirmation I am understanding
Intention Intuition
Key Emotion Depression
Self Work Self-Reflection
Mantra May I see and perceive clearly on every level and seek only the truth.


Sahasrara Crown

Identity Universal
Affirmation I am aware
Intention Liberation
Key Emotion Anger / Attachment
Self Work Self-Knowledge
Mantra May I have a clear and open connection with source energy (spirit) and live in the present moment.

Basic Issues

  1. Grounding, Survival, Finances, Family, Physical Health, Trust, Safety, Security, Stability, Centering, Coming home, Embodiment, Boundaries, Determination, Strength, Will, Determination
  2. Ability to go with the flow, Patience, Change, Adaptability, Receptivity, Creativity, Relationship, Play, Pleasure, Sexuality
  3. Power, Will, Self-esteem, Self-image, Digestion, Adaptability, Ability to grow, Vitality, Purpose, Courage, Transformation, Confidence, Humility, Focus, Setting limits, Asking for what you need, Reclaiming your power
  4. Love, Devotion, Ability to connect with others, Openness, Compassion, Balance, Self-acceptance, Self-confidence, To be in good relationship, Place where dharma resides, Comfort, Peace.
  5. Communication, Ability to speak clearly and appropriately, Resonance, The Right to Speak and Hear the Truth, Freedom, Open self-expression, Balance between Heart and Mind
  6. Intuition, Imagination, Discernment, Ability to see from a deeper place within your “third eye”, Wisdom, Insight, Dreams, Vision, Color, Clairvoyance, Capacity for universal vision, Global awareness, Meditation, Empowerment, Visualization
  7. Awareness of awareness, Witness consciousness, Releasing attachment, Knowledge, Beliefs, Consciousness, Spirituality, Bliss, Understanding, Transcendence, Truth, Reality, Inspiration, Selflessness, Devotion, Calm

Chakra Definitions

Root Chakra
Grounding, Stability, Physical Needs, Security, Survival, Manifestation, Material World.
Sacral Chakra
Emotions, Relationships, Sexuality, Self-Worth, Creativity, Empathy.
Solar Plexus
Persnal Power, Will, Energy, Metabolism, Effectiveness, Self-Esteem, Social Identity, Happiness.
Heart Chakra
Love, Understanding, Trust, Hope, Openness, Compassion, Balance, Forgiveness.
Throat Chakra
Communication, Sound, Vibration, Self-Expression, Listening, Speaking, Writing.
Third Eye
Psychic Abilities, Channeling, Telepathy, Astral Travel, Visions, Connections to Higher Self.
Crown Chakra
Universal Consciousness, All Knowing, Cosmic Connection, The God Source, Enlightenment, Gateway to other Dimensions.